Virginia Beach, Va - A Tallwood High School student was sent to the hospital on Wednesday after she was hit by a driver. The student's injuries were non-life threatening, but that isn't always the case.
In the last 10 years, 119 students nationwide have been killed while getting off the bus. In Virginia and North Carolina, drivers must stop whenever a bus puts out their stop sign, even if they are approaching the school bus from the opposite side of the road. The only time drivers do not need to stop is when there is a physical barrier, like a median, separating the school bus from cars.
If drivers do not stop in Virginia, they are faced with reckless driving felony/misdemeanor and six points on their license. Those points can stay on licenses for 11-years.
North Carolina drivers who do not stop will get five points on their license and have to pay at least a $500 fine. If someone is injured or killed by a driver, the fine could cost thousands.