Five Monarchs earn preseason All-Conference USA honors

Posted at 11:01 PM, Jul 20, 2016
and last updated 2016-07-20 23:01:10-04

IRVING, Texas – Old Dominion University football featured five student-athletes, Ray Lawry, Zach Pascal, Rashaad Coward, TJ Ricks and Justice Davila, on the Conference USA preseason All-Conference Team, the league announced on Wednesday.

The team is voted on by the league’s coaches.

Lawry led Conference USA in rushing last season with 1136 yards and was third in the league with 11 rushing touchdowns.  He became the first ODU back to rush for more than 1000 yards in a season, and in the win at UTSA, became the Monarchs’ all-time leading rusher. He earned second-team all-conference accolades.

Pascal led ODU with 68 receptions for 970 yards and tied with a team high eight touchdown catches last season. He caught fire the last seven games, catching 54 passes for 846 yards and all eight touchdowns. He finished sixth in the league in receptions and fifth in receiving yards. He received C-USA honorable mention honors.

Coward led all ODU defensive linemen with 47 tackles, while adding 2.5 tackles for loss and 1.5 sacks.

Ricks led Conference USA and set an ODU single-season record with 123 tackles. He added 5.5 tackles for loss, 2.5 sacks, seven pass breakups and an interception. He registered six double-digit tackle games and led the squad in tackles four times. He earned second-team All-C-USA honors.

Davila started 10 games at safety last season and finished third on the team with 89 tackles, four pass breakups and a forced fumble.


Offensive Player of the Year

Nick Mullens, Sr., QB, Southern Miss

Defensive Player of the Year

Trey Hendrickson, Sr., DE, Florida Atlantic

Special Teams Player of the Year

Jonathan Barnes, Jr., K, Louisiana Tech

Dalton Schomp, Sr., P, Florida Atlantic


QB             Brent Stockstill, So., Middle Tennessee

QB             Nick Mullens, Sr., Southern Miss

RB             Kalif Phillips, Sr., Charlotte

RB            Ray Lawry, Jr., Old Dominion

RB             Ito Smith, Jr., Southern Miss

RB             Aaron Jones, Sr., UTEP

RB             Jarveon Williams, Sr., UTSA

RB             Anthony Wales, Sr., WKU

OL             Michael Montero, Sr., FIU

OL             Reggie Bain, Jr., Florida Atlantic

OL             Darrell Brown, Sr., Louisiana Tech

OL             David Mahaffey, Sr., Louisiana Tech

OL             Michael Selby, Sr., Marshall

OL             Clint Van Horn, Sr., Marshall

OL             Maurquice Shakir, Sr., Middle Tennessee

OL             Cameron Tom, Sr., Southern Miss

OL             Forrest Lamp, Sr., WKU

OL             Will Hernandez, Jr., UTEP

TE             Jonnu Smith, Sr., FIU

TE             Ryan Yurachek, Jr., Marshall

WR           Trent Taylor, Sr., Louisiana Tech

WR           Richie James, So., Middle Tennessee

WR           Zach Pascal, Sr., Old Dominion

WR           Taywan Taylor, Sr., WKU


DL             Larry Ogunjobi, Sr., Charlotte

DL             Trey Hendrickson, Sr., Florida Atlantic

DL             Jaylon Ferguson, So., Louisiana Tech

DL             Gary Thompson, Sr., Marshall

DL             Rashaad Coward, Sr., Old Dominion

DL             Dylan Bradley, Sr., Southern Miss

DL             Nick Usher, Sr., UTEP

DL             Marcus Davenport, Jr., UTSA

LB             Anthony Wint, Jr., FIU

LB             Azeez Al-Shaair, So., Florida Atlantic

LB             TJ Ricks, Sr., Old Dominion

LB             Alex Lyons, Sr., Rice

LB             D’Nerius Antoine, Sr., Southern Miss

LB             Alvin Jones, Jr., UTEP

DB             Ocie Rose, So., Florida Atlantic

DB             Jalen Young, So., Florida Atlantic

DB             Xavier Woods, Sr., Louisiana Tech

DB             Jeremy Cutrer, Sr., Middle Tennessee

DB             Kishawn McClain, Jr., North Texas

DB            Justice Davila, Jr., Old Dominion

DB             Picasso Nelson Jr., Jr., Southern Miss

DB             Michael Egwuagu, Sr., UTSA

Special Teams

K                Jonathan Barnes, Jr., Louisiana Tech

P                Dalton Schomp, Sr., Florida Atlantic

KR             Kylen Towner, Jr., WKU

PR             Warren Redix, So., UTEP

LS             Darrell Travis, Sr., Louisiana Tech