NewsPositively Hampton Roads


Chesapeake teacher selected as finalist for presidential award

Posted at 12:21 PM, Sep 04, 2016
and last updated 2016-09-04 22:55:53-04

VIRGINIA – Six public school teachers from Virginia have been chosen as state finalists for the 2016 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Princess Anne High School science teacher Camilla Walck was one of the 213 recipients of the prestigious award in 2015.

The award is known as the nation’s top honor for math and science teachers. One of the teachers includes Julia Young, a science teacher at Deep Creek Elementary School in Chesapeake.

The other five Virginia finalists include:

  • Cari Del Fratte — Charles Barrett Elementary, Alexandria, for mathematics
  • Carolyn Harlow — Clover Hill Elementary, Chesterfield County, for science
  • Kathleen O’Dell — Christiansburg Middle, Montgomery County, for mathematics
  • Jerome Peck — Seneca Ridge Middle, Loudoun County, for science
  • Melonie Yielding — Ellis Elementary, Prince William County, for science

The awardees are chosen by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators after a state level selection process. This year’s Virginia finalists were chosen from over 80 nominees by committees brought together by the Virginia Department of Education.

Each nomination year of the award alternates between teachers in kindergarten through 6th grade level and 7th through 12th grade teachers.

The 2016 winners will be announced by the president next year. Winners receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.