Suffolk, Portsmouth, Hampton approved for FEMA disaster aid

Posted at 12:48 PM, Nov 19, 2016
and last updated 2016-11-19 13:23:02-05

RICHMOND, Va. – Suffolk, Portsmouth and Hampton have been added to the Individual Assistance disaster declarations to help with damage caused by Hurricane Matthew, according to Governor Terry McAuliffe.

Individual Assistance has already been approved for residents in Norfolk, Chesapeake, Virginia Beach and Newport News.

“I am pleased that we were able work with President Obama to bring this funding back for the people of Virginia who need it. I thank the residents of Portsmouth, Hampton and Suffolk who provided a thorough accounting of the impacts to their community to help inform this decision and deliver the needed federal aid,” said Governor McAuliffe. “This additional funding will help to ensure the residents and businesses of these communities have access to the aid needed to support recovery efforts in the wake of Hurricane Matthew I encourage all Virginians in surrounding regions to continue submitting information as this process unfolds.”

Governor McAuliffe announced Friday the Public Assistance aid for Franklin, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Chesapeake, Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Isle of Wight County and Southampton County. Public Assistance gives direct financial aid to citizens and businesses, while Individual Assistance helps individuals and households.

Residents must apply for aid from FEMA and report damages. To apply, call 800-621-3362 or go to