ODU’s Ahmad Caver voted 1st team All-Conference USA men’s basketball, B.J. Stith named 3rd team

Posted at 10:56 PM, Mar 05, 2018
and last updated 2018-03-05 22:56:30-05

Ahmad Caver shoots a jumper.

NORFOLK, Va. ( – Ahmad Caver (Atlanta, Ga.) of the ODU men’s basketball team was named to the All-Conference USA First Team as well as the All-Defensive Team, while teammate B.J. Stith (Lawrenceville, Va.) was named to the All C-USA Third Team, as announced by conference officials on Monday afternoon.

Caver’s 3.05 assists to turnover ratio ranks 11th in the NCAA and first the conference. His 67 steals ranks 15th in NCAA and second in the conference, while his 2.23 steals per game average ranks 17th in the nation (second in C-USA). He ranks 20th in the country and second in the C-USA for averaging 37:00 minutes played per game.

Caver’s 6.2 assists per game average ranks 17th in DI and second in the league, while his 186 assists ranks 20th nationally (second in Conference USA). The six-foot two-inch guard ranks 11th in Conference USA for three-point field-goals made per game (2.1) and 17th for points per game (14.3). Caver recorded five double-doubles this season. He ended the regular season first on the team for points, assists and steals.

ODU basketball’s B.J. Stith dunks vs. NSU

B.J. Stith ended the regular season averaging 14.3 points per game, which ranked second on the squad and 18th in the league. His 5.4 rebounds per outing ranked third on team (20th in C-USA), while his 1.8 assists per game ranks fourth. Stith’s 82.8 free-throw percentage ranks fifth in the C-USA and first on the team. His 1.8 three-point field-goals made per game ranks 17th in C-USA.

The No. 2 seeded Monarchs will await the winner of the No. 7 seed North Texas versus the No. 10 seed LA Tech for a Quarterfinal matchup. Thursday’s Quarterfinal contest will begin at 9:30 ET/8:30 CT and will air on Stadium/Twitter.

All-Conference USA Teams

First Team
Jon Elmore, Marshall
Nick King, Middle Tennessee
Ahmad Caver, Old Dominion
Chris Cokley, UAB
Justin Johnson, WKU

Second Team
C.J. Burks, Marshall
Giddy Potts, Middle Tennessee
Roosevelt Smart, North Texas
Jhivvan Jackson, UTSA
Darius Thompson, WKU

Third Team
Brian Beard Jr., FIU
Ronald Delph, Florida Atlantic
Jacobi Boykins, Louisiana Tech
Adjin Penava, Marshall
B.J. Stith, Old Dominion

All-Defensive Team
Brian Beard Jr., FIU
Adjin Penava, Marshall
Tyrik Dixon, Middle Tennessee
Ahmad Caver, Old Dominion
William Lee, UAB

All-Freshman Team
Anthony Duruji, LA Tech
Zack Bryant, UAB
Jhivvan Jackson, UTSA
Keaton Wallace, UTSA
Taveion Hollingsworth, WKU