Watch: Mandatory evacuation ordered for Dare, Currituck Counties ahead of Florence impacts

Posted at 10:29 AM, Sep 10, 2018
and last updated 2018-09-12 00:18:38-04

DARE CO., N.C. - Hatteras Island is being evacuated ahead of Hurricane Florence.

A state of emergency was issued Monday and a mandatory evacuation order was put in place for all visitors and residents on Hatteras Island.

The order is effective starting at 12 p.m.

This includes all areas of Hatteras Island including the villages of Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, Buxton, Frisco and Hatteras Village, the county said.

A mandatory evacuation for residents and visitors in other areas of Dare County goes into effect beginning Tuesday, September 11 at 7 a.m.

This includes the towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo; Roanoke Island; and the Dare County mainland.

On Tuesday at 12 p.m. a mandatory evacuation order goes into effect for parts of Currituck County including the Outer Banks communities of Corolla and Carova.

Emergency management officials are recommending evacuees use Highway 64/264 and head to I-95 to move North/South. Highway 158 is expected to be very congested and 64/264 has less stoplights allowing for constant speed.

The Dare County Control Group said they met Monday morning and determined that a mandatory evacuation for all visitors and residents is necessary to ensure safety.

NC Emergency Management will be opening a shelter for Dare County residents beginning on Tuesday at 2 p.m. at Knightdale High School. People must show a valid ID with a Dare County address for entry.

Pets are welcome, but vaccination records for each animal is required. Owners are responsible for feeding, care, clean-up and the behavior of their pets.

Dare County Schools will be closed for all students and staff beginning Tuesday through the remainder of the week. All after-school activities are canceled for Monday with the exception of the ASEP program.

Administrative offices, clerk of the court, district court sessions and parks and recreation programs will also be closed for the week.

Dare County Public Works will recollect residential trash on Tuesday September 11 in Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, Manteo, Wanchese, East Lake, Stumpy Point and Manns Harbor. Regular trash collection will begin again on Monday, September 17.

Hurricane Florence is currently projected to hit southeastern North Carolina and may bring life-threatening storm surge to Dare County, along with tropical storm force winds, heavy rains and the potential for tornadoes.

For the latest information from Dare County Emergency Management, click here.

Click here to track Hurricane Florence