SportsHigh School


Kenny Easley, Bill Dee, & Larry Stepney selected to Virginia High School Hall of Fame

Posted at 6:58 PM, Apr 29, 2019
and last updated 2019-04-29 23:18:31-04

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. — The 2019 Virginia High School Hall of Fame class will be sprinkled with some 757 legends.

Former Oscar Smith head football coach Bill Dee.

Legendary Oscar Smith athlete Kenny Easley, Norview’s Larry Stepney, and the late coach Bill Dee will all be inducted into the class this June.

The class also includes: (Billy Baber – Western Albemarle, Natalie Baird Etheridge – Park View-Sterling, Rebecca Wakefield-Snider – Woodbridge); three coaches (Jeffrey Custer – Christiansburg/Woodbridge/Gar-Field/Lake Braddock),  Lou Sorrentino – George Mason/Culpeper County/C.D. Hylton/Mountain View), and two contributors (Nancy Burke –George C. Marshall/South Lakes, Ernie Hicks – Richlands).

Athletes are eligible for consideration 10 years after completion of their high school careers and are judged primarily for their achievements in interscholastic sports.  Coaches are eligible after 15 years of experience or upon retirement and are judged on the merits of their achievements at the high school level.  Contributors are professionals who have rendered significant services in some other capacity such as administration, academic activities, officiating, media or sports medicine.

Members of the Class of 2019 will bring total membership to 295. The 30th Annual Hall of Fame induction dinner is Sunday, June 23, at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Charlottesville. Tickets are $35 and can be purchased on-line: