Redskins legend Joe Gibbs elected to NASCAR Hall of Fame

Posted at 12:20 AM, May 23, 2019
and last updated 2019-05-23 00:20:53-04

Washington Redskins assistant head coach Joe Bugel (left) and coach Joe Gibbs. (Photo by Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images)

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – It’s another Hall haul for Redskins legend Joe Gibbs.

Wednesday, NASCAR announced Joe Gibbs was elected to the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2020. The five-person group – the 11th since the inception of the NASCAR Hall of Fame in 2010 – consists of Buddy Baker, Gibbs, Bobby Labonte, Tony Stewart and Waddell Wilson.

Gibbs, the three-time Super Bowl champion started Joe Gibbs Racing in 1992 and has led the organization to four Cup Series championships and five Xfinity Series titles. Known as a master motivator, Gibbs’ 164 Cup Series owner wins (through May 22, 2019) rank third all-time. They include three Daytona 500 victories and five Brickyard 400 wins. His Cup Series titles have come with three different drivers: Bobby Labonte (2000), Tony Stewart (2002, ’05) and Kyle Busch (2015). Referred to in NASCAR circles has simply “Coach,” Gibbs was enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1996.

Team owner Joe Gibbs. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

The Class of 2020 was determined by votes cast by the Voting Panel, including representatives from NASCAR, the NASCAR Hall of Fame, track owners from major facilities and historic short tracks, media members, manufacturer representatives, competitors (drivers, owners, crew chiefs), recognized industry leaders, a nationwide fan vote conducted through and, for the sixth year, the reigning Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion (Joey Logano). In all, 57 votes were cast, with two additional Voting Panel members recused from voting as potential nominees for induction (Ricky Rudd and Waddell Wilson). The accounting firm of EY presided over the tabulation of the votes.

The class of 2020 during the NASCAR 2020 Hall of Fame announcement ceremony. (Photo by Jason Miczek/Getty Images)

Voting was as follows: Tony Stewart (88%), Joe Gibbs (72%), Waddell Wilson (72%), Buddy Baker (70%) and Bobby Labonte (67%).

The distinguished group will be honored during the NASCAR Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Jan. 31, 2020.

Gibbs’ Redskins teams defeated Miami in Super Bowl XVII, Denver in Super Bowl XXII and Buffalo in Super Bowl XXVI.