World Series: Washington Nationals are 2019 World Series champions

Posted at 11:50 PM, Oct 30, 2019
and last updated 2019-10-30 23:51:39-04

HOUSTON, TEXAS – OCTOBER 30: The Washington Nationals celebrate after defeating the Houston Astros in Game Seven to win the 2019 World Series. (Photo by Bob Levey/Getty Images)

HOUSTON – For the first time in team history, the Washington Nationals have won the World Series.

After taking a 2-0 series lead, the Nats didn’t make it easy on themselves by dropping three straight games at home to the Houston Astros, but they got their momentum back in Houston where they won two straight to be crowned 2019 champions.

Yuli Gurriel gave the home crowd something to cheer about in the second inning, hitting a solo shot that gave the Astros a 1-0 lead.

In the fifth, Houston extended its lead. Carlos Correa singled, scoring Yuli Gurriel and putting the Astros up 2-0.

The Nationals got their first run on the board in the seventh inning when Anthony Rendon hit a solo shot to left field, splitting the Nationals’ deficit in half.

HOUSTON, TEXAS – OCTOBER 30: Juan Soto #22 of the Washington Nationals hits an RBI single against the Houston Astros. (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)

One out later, Howie Kendrick added another home run, scoring two and giving the Nats a 3-2 lead. Juan Soto singled to right an inning later to score Adam Eaton and put the team up 4-2.

In the ninth, Washington was hunting for insurance runs. With no outs, Eaton singled to score two and give the Nats a four-run advantage.

Virginia Beach product Daniel Hudson took the mound in the ninth inning to close out the game, which Washington went on to win 6-2.