Outer Banks opens to visitors Saturday

Posted at 12:09 PM, May 06, 2020

CURRITUCK COUNTY, N.C. - Currituck County, Dare County, and Hyde County announced that restrictions on entry for visitors have been lifted in response to Governor Roy Cooper's Phase One announcement.

The restrictions were lifted at 12:01 a.m. on May 16.

Governor Cooper issued Executive Order 138 earlier in May, which modified North Carolina’s Stay at Home order and transitioned the state into Phase One of slowly easing certain COVID-19 restrictions.

The lifting of restrictions is for the towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head and Manteo; Hatteras Island; Roanoke Island; the Dare mainland; the Currituck County Outer Banks; campgrounds on the Currituck County mainland; and Ocracoke Island.

Officials sad allowing visitors on May 16 will allow seven days for local businesses, attractions, and accommodations providers to prepare for the arrival of visitors.

Before traveling to the Outer Banks, officials advise visitors to contact their accommodations provider to confirm their reservation and arrival plans.

Officials says the following guidelines are still set in place:
· Social distancing guidelines are still in place
· Public gatherings are limited to 10 people or less
· Getting food from restaurants continues to be on a take-out or delivery basis
· Businesses, including grocery stores, have limits on the number of people allowed in the store at any given time based on square footage
· Personal care and grooming businesses and entertainment businesses without retail or dining are not open yet based on State regulations which are not determined or controlled by our local government

Officials advise visitors if possible, to bring essentials, including paper products and non-perishable groceries, due to shortages.

For more information, click here.

Click here for full coronavirus coverage.