List of candidates & resources for May 19 Hampton Roads, Eastern Shore elections

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Posted at 7:01 AM, May 19, 2020

Hampton Roads and Eastern Shore cities have prepared for Tuesday's election after Gov. Northam changed routines in order to keep each citizen safe during the pandemic.

Though there are thousands of residents expected to vote on Tuesday, many have already done so with an absentee ballot.

Positions that are open include city and town council, mayor, and others on school board for certain parts of the region.

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m., and if you aren't sure where to vote, you can click here to find out.

Click here to see live results as the polls close Tuesday evening.

Resources provided by the Virginia Department of Elections are listed below as well as a breakdown of each city's positions up for grabs.



  • Richard W. West
  • Steffanie L. Aubuchon
  • L. T. “Len” Myers II
  • Palmer D. Smith

City Council

  • Don J. Carey III
  • Les Smith, Jr.
  • Robert C. Ike, Jr.
  • Dwight M. Parker
  • S. Z. “Debbie” Ritter
  • Victoria T. A. “Vic” Nicholls
  • Sharon “Crab Lady” Johnson-Clayton

School Board

  • Sam L. Boone, Jr.
  • Victoria L. Proffitt
  • Angela B. “Angie” Swygert
  • Gayle M. Gilmore
  • Thomas L. Mercer, Sr.
  • Shirley P. Auguste



  • Frank M. Rabil

City Council / District 4

  • Henri A. Porter
  • Linwood W. Johnson III



  • Tara B. Kea

Town Council

  • Frank Cook
  • H. Massey Joyner
  • Charles Stallard
  • C. Merrell Carr Jr.
  • Roland Nelson Britt
  • Paul S. Kea Jr.
  • Judith D. Radford
  • Bobby L. Crumpler



  • Kenneth Cooper Alexander

School Board Superward 6

  • Noelle M. Gabriel
  • Matthew J. Moynihan

School Board Superward 7

  • Rodney A. Jordan
  • George W. “Billy” Cook, Jr.


Town Council

  • Denise Newby Tynes
  • Michael G. Smith
  • Randy Pack
  • Renee K. Rountree

On the Peninsula



  • Richelle D. Wallace
  • Chris C. Carter
  • Donnie R. Tuck

City Council

  • Lance “Woo” Jones Jr.
  • Chris O. Snead
  • Chris L. Bowman
  • W. H. “Billy” Hobbs, Jr.
  • A. C. Cordoza

School Board

  • Ann Stephens Cherry
  • Tina Banks-Gray
  • Reginald C. Woodhouse
  • Stephanie Jackson Afonja
  • Phyllis Taylor Henry
  • William R. Melgaard

Newport News

City Council
Central - Seat A

  • Cleon M. Long
  • Patricia P. “Pat” Woodbury

North - Seat A

  • Marcellus L. Harris Iii
  • Robert S. “Rob” Coleman

South - Seat A

  • Tina L. Vick
  • Hakima A. Muhammad
  • Iva Mae Schroyer
  • Latonya A. “Abys” Wallace

School Board

  • Holly K. Kidd
  • Maritsa A. Alger
  • Peter J. Mercier III
  • Rebecca Shwayder Aman
  • Cameron E. Bertrand


  • Marlon A. Pendergraft Sr.
  • John R. Eley III


City Council

  • Barbara L. Ramsey
  • W. P. “Pat” Dent
  • Paul T. Freiling
  • Caleb T. Rogers

On the Eastern Shore

Cape Charles

Town Council

  • Herbert A. “Herb” Thom Jr.
  • Andrew J. “Andy” Buchholz
  • Charles F. “Sambo” Brown
  • Steven R. Bennett



  • J. Arthur Leonard

Town Council/ 1 Precinct

  • Denise P. Bowden

William T. McComb, Jr.

  • Gene Wayne Taylor
  • Patricia E. Farley
  • Christopher Bott


Town Council

  • Harvey W. Elliott, Jr.
  • Evonne B. Elliott
  • John W. Smith, Jr.
  • Elwood Stanley Young
  • Stephanie A. Clougherty
  • Timothy C. Clougherty, Sr.
  • Pamela G. Riffey
  • Claude M. Linton
  • Nicole A. Moore



  • Fletcher D. Fosque

Member Town Council

  • Maphis M. Oswald
  • Robert J. Bloxom
  • Matthew D. Spuck
  • Ray E. Burger III



  • Frank A. Russell II
  • Ronnie Wayne Marshall Jr.

Town Council

  • Julie A. Nash
  • D. Diann Bendix
  • Richard A. Taylor
  • Dana T. Bundick
  • Francis C. Welch