NewsPositively Hampton Roads


Local Boys & Girls Clubs host annual Youth of the Year gala

22 HOF Inductee Graphic (3).png
Posted at 8:19 AM, Mar 30, 2022
and last updated 2022-03-31 23:15:19-04

Some inspiring local youth were recognized on March 31 for their work with the Boys & Girls Clubs of Southeast Virginia!

The Boys & Girls Clubs (BGCSEVA) held their Annual Youth of the Year Gala. The organization said in previous years, the Youth of the Year Gala has raised more than $250,000 for Boys & Girls Clubs of Southeast Virginia.

This year, BGCSEVA honored three Youths of the Year: Ndia Orr, Truitt Club in Chesapeake and Destiny Carrington, Eastern Shore Club in Accomac.

"Established in 1947, Youth of the Year is the premier youth recognition program of Boys & Girls Clubs of America. This national competition is designed to promote and recognize a teen member's service to Club and community, academic performance, and contributions to family and spiritual life," the BGCSEVA said.

The competition decision starts at the local level as clubs select a Youth of the Year from members, ages 14-18 and they then compete for the title of Youth of the Year of Boys & Girls Clubs of Southeast Virginia. The winner advances to the statewide competition and receives a college scholarship from the Lewis D. Hirschler Scholarship Fund. State winners then advance to one of five regional competitions around the country. Each of the five regional winners enters the national competition. Contestants receive prizes along the way and the national winner becomes the newest ambassador of Boys & Girls Clubs of America.

Additionally, this year Brian Holland, CEO of Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group was honored as the 2022 Hall of Fame inductee. The Hall of Fame honors community leaders who are integral to the success of the organization and have made great strides toward ensuring that Great Futures Start Here.

"We could not be prouder to showcase the impact that Boys & Girls Clubs has on our youth and also honor a great leader like Brian Holland who has helped us so much in advancing our mission." Kevin Will, President & CEO.

You can watch the gala above.