Norfolk State's Chanette Hicks named national player of the year

Posted at 8:56 PM, Mar 31, 2020
and last updated 2020-03-31 20:56:04-04

NORFOLK, Va. ( – Norfolk State senior guard Chanette Hicks will have more hardware to take home following the 2019-20 season, being named First-Team All-American and HBCU National Player of the Year by BOXTOROW.

Hicks, a Virginia Tech transfer and Norfolk native, was given the award after averaging 20.0 points, 5.0 assists, and 4.8 steals per game. Her 4.8 steals ranked second nationally, passing the NSU single-season record. Hicks scored in double-figures in all but one of her 28 games this season, while having one triple-double on the season. She became the first player in MEAC history to win both Player and Defensive Player of the Year for women's basketball. Hicks helped lead the Spartans to a 19-11 overall record and a 12-4 conference record, the latter being the best winning percentage for women's basketball since joining the MEAC.

FROM THE PRESS BOX TO PRESS ROW, also known as BOXTOROW, is the only nationally syndicated sports talk show which places major emphasis on HBCU Sports. BOXTOROW debuted August 20, 2005 on five radio stations across the country, and now airs on SiriusXM as well as in over 30 radio markets across the country.

First Team All-Americans
Ashley Bates, Hampton (G, Sr., Hopkins, Minn.)
Ciani Cryor, Texas Southern (G, Gr., Philadelphia, Pa.)
Chanette Hicks (G, R-Sr., Norfolk, Va.)
Dariauna Lewis, Alabama A&M (F, Sophomore, Omaha, Ne.)
Chelsea Mitchell, Morgan State (G, Sr., Columbia, Md.)
Niya Mitchell, Texas Southern (F, Sr., Bay City, Texas)
Paulina Afriyie, North Carolina Central (F, Sr., Bronx, N.Y.)
Ameysha Williams, Jackson State (C, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.)

Second Team All-Americans
Marneisha Hamer, Jackson State (F, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.)
Shawntayla Harris, Arkansas Pine Bluff (C, Sr., Tuscaloosa, Ala.)
Laren VanArsdale, Hampton (G, Soph., Powder Springs, Ga.)
Shawntayla Harris, Arkansas Pine Bluff (C, Sr., Tuscaloosa, Ala.)

BOXTOROW Player of the Year: Chanette Hicks, Norfolk State
BOXTOROW Coach of the Year: Vanessa Blair-Lewis, Bethune-Cookman