ODU women's hoops team picked to finish 3rd; Young, Wayne voted preseason All-Conference

Posted at 12:35 PM, Nov 04, 2020
and last updated 2020-11-04 12:35:52-05

DALLAS, Texas ( – Juniors Amari Young and Ajah Wayne have been named to the C-USA Preseason All-Conference Team, the league announced Wednesday. The Monarchs, who received three first-place votes were picked to finish third by the C-USA coaches.

First-year head coach DeLisha Milton-Jones inherits a team that won 24 games in 2019-2020. ODU's defense ranked first in the country for holding teams to three-point field goals and 15th in the country in scoring defense. Middle Tennessee was picked as the preseason favorite.

Young, earned Second Team All-C-USA and All-Defensive Team honors last season. The North Augusta, S.C., native averaged 10.7 points, 8.2 rebounds and 2.1 steals per game last season. She ranked second in the conference in steals and seventh in rebounding. The forward was one of two Monarchs to make all 30 starts last season, also leading the team in steals and rebounds. Young recorded four double-doubles and compiled a career-high 23 points on the road at UTEP.

Wayne, who averaged 10.7 points, 6.9 rebounds, 1.2 assists and 1.1 steals per game in 2019-20 was a Conference USA Second Team All-Conference selection last season. Behind Young, the Birmingham, Ala., native recorded the most rebounds on the team. Wayne led ODU to its first win over a Power 5 opponent since 2015 with a career-high 35-point performance against Auburn.

2020-21 C-USA Preseason Poll (first-place votes)

  1. Middle Tennessee (8)
  2. Rice (3)
  3. Old Dominion (3)
  4. Charlotte
  5. WKU
  6. UTEP
  7. UAB
  8. North Texas
  9. Louisiana Tech
  10. Florida Atlantic
  11. Southern Miss
  12. Marshall
  13. UTSA
  14. FIU

2020-21 C-USA Preseason Team

Mariah Linney, Charlotte
Amber Dixon, Louisiana Tech
Savannah Wheeler, Marshall
Aislynn Hayes, Middle Tennessee
*Anastasia Hayes, Middle Tennessee
*Nancy Mulkey, Rice
Amari Young, Old Dominion
Ajah Wayne, Old Dominion
Katia Gallegos, UTEP

*Co-Preseason Players of the Year