Richmond Raceway hosts iRacing Pro Invitational Series

Posted at 12:26 PM, Apr 19, 2020
and last updated 2020-04-19 12:58:31-04

RICHMOND (Richmond Raceway Communications) - While NASCAR’s on-track activity has been postponed through the weekend of May 3rd to align with CDC guidance, drivers and fans are turning to the virtual world to see some of the best racing competition around.

NASCAR, iRacing and FOX Sports teamed up to deliver the first-ever eNASCAR iRacing Pro invitational Series event, the Dixie Vodka 150, at virtual Homestead-Miami Speedway after all national pro sports were put on hold due to the pandemic a few weeks ago. FOX Sports later committed to covering the remainder of the season, which began Sunday, March 29, at 1 p.m. ET from virtual Texas Motor Speedway. Two weeks ago, the series went to battle at virtual Bristol Motor Speedway, where ultimately William Byron took the checkered flag.

After a brief break last weekend in observance of the Easter holiday, the eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series is back in action this Sunday at virtual Richmond Raceway.

The most recent race of the series, the 150-lap virtual race event at Bristol Motor Speedway, was full of excitement. Veteran iRacer Byron won the pole award and led a majority of the race en route to his 293rd iRacing win.

John Hunter Nemechek finished second to Byron, Timmy Hill, the Texas race winner, finished third, Denny Hamlin finished fourth and Matt DiBenedetto rounded out the top five.

The series inaugural event on March 22, won by three-time Daytona 500 winner Hamlin, drew 903,000 viewers on FS1. The second series race at Texas Motor Speedway, won by Hill, drew 1.3 million viewers.

Bristol’s virtual race drew 1.179 million viewers and got a 0.81 rating.

Sunday’s Toyota Owners 150 at Richmond Raceway will once again feature FOX NASCAR broadcasters Jeff Gordon, Mike Joy and Larry McReynolds calling the action, as well as Clint Bowyer serving as the in-race analyst.

The race begins at 1 p.m.

Below is the list of invited drivers:

#1 Kurt Busch
#2 Brad Keselowski
#3 Austin Dillon
#4 Kevin Harvick
#6 Ross Chastain
#9 Chase Elliott
#11 Denny Hamlin
#12 Ryan Blaney
#13 Ty Dillon
#14 Clint Bowyer
#17 Chris Buescher
#18 Kyle Busch
#20 Erik Jones
#21 Matt DiBennedetto
#22 Joey Logano
#24 William Byron
#31 Tyler Reddick
#37 Ryan Preece
#38 John Hunter Nemechek
#43 Bubba Wallace
#48 Jimmie Johnson
#51 Garrett Smithley
#66 Timmy Hill
#77 Parker Kligerman
#88 Alex Bowman
#95 Christopher Bell

Four drivers were added to the race after Sunday morning's qualifying round: Bobby Labonte (1st place), Landon Cassill (2nd place), Daniel Suarez (3rd place) and Dale Earnhardt Jr. (4th place).