Tiger Woods among nominees for World Golf Hall of Fame

Posted at 3:11 PM, Mar 03, 2020
and last updated 2020-03-03 15:24:18-05

ST. AUGUSTINE, Fla. – The World Golf Hall of Fame released the names of 10 finalists who will be considered for enshrinement in 2021. The list of finalists, made up of male and female competitors and contributors, includes 82-time PGA TOUR champion Tiger Woods.

Woods, a 15-time major champion, is a finalist for the first time. According to the Hall of Fame's website, the finalists were selected by the Nominating Committeecomprised of 26 individuals, including six Hall of Fame Members: Juli Inkster, Hale Irwin, Meg Mallon, Colin Montgomerie, Mark O’Meara and Karrie Webb.

"The Nominating Committee has selected 10 finalists who represent the highest caliber of golfers and contributors," said Greg McLaughlin, CEO of World Golf Foundation. "The recent enhancements to the World Golf Hall of Fame Induction criteria provide a great process to ensure the most worthy of candidates are being considered. We are grateful to the Nominating Committee for their work and anticipate the Class of 2021 being one of our strongest to date."

The World Golf Foundation Board of Directors recently approved changes to the eligibility include lowering the age of a Male or Female Competitor from 50 to 45 years of age or three years retired from the game. Additional changes included retiring the Veterans category and changing the name of the former Lifetime Achievement category to the Contributor category.

The Selection Committee, a 20-member panel comprised of Hall of Fame Members, media representatives and leaders of the major golf organizations, will be tasked with discussing the merits of each finalist and ultimately selecting the Class of 2021. The 2021 Induction Ceremony date, location and class will be announced in the coming weeks.

Below is the list of finalists (listed alphabetically by category):

Male Competitor (4)
Johnny Farrell, United States
Padraig Harrington, Ireland
Tom Weiskopf, United States
Tiger Woods, United States

Female Competitor (4)
Susie Maxwell Berning, United States
Beverly Hanson, United States
Sandra Palmer, United States
Dottie Pepper, United States

Contributor (2)
Tim Finchem, United States
Marion Hollins, United States

About the World Golf Hall of Fame
The World Golf Hall of Fame celebrates golf and honors the legacies of those who have made it great. The Hall of Fame opened in Pinehurst, N.C. in 1974 where a total of 71 members were inducted before moving to its current location in St. Augustine, Florida in 1998. The World Golf Hall of Fame currently recognizes 160 Members. The Hall of Fame is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit institution and is allied with 26 national and international golf organizations, including the European Tour, LPGA, the Masters Tournament, PGA of America, PGA TOUR, The R&A and USGA. To learn more about the World Golf Hall of Fame or to lend support, visit