Sports

Actions

Virginia Destroyers 2012 schedule released

Promo-Image_960x720.png
Posted at 3:16 PM, Aug 01, 2012
and last updated 2012-08-01 15:16:38-04

Virginia Beach, Va. – The UFL Champion Virginia Destroyers will kick off their season on the road against the Omaha Nighthawks on Friday, September 21st

The Destroyer’s home opener will take place at the Virginia Beach Sportsplex at 7pm Friday, October 5th against The Sacramento Mountain Lions.

The Destroyers confirm that 2011 season ticket holders will be able to renew their season tickets once tickets go on sale.

The UFL’s four teams will play eight games, concluding the regular season on the nights of Wednesday, Nov. 7, and Friday, Nov. 9. The UFL’s fourth championship game will take place on Friday, Nov. 16, at 9 p.m. ET., at a site to be determined.

The Destroyers, coached by Marty Schottenheimer, defeated the Locomotives for the title last November. They will go into Las Vegas for a grudge match on Wednesday, Sept. 26. The Destroyers’ home opener is Friday, Oct. 5, at 7 p.m. ET, against the Mountain Lions.

“We’re proud of what we were able to accomplish in 2011, but this is a new season and, in a lot of ways a new league,” Schottenheimer said.

The UFL plays on Wednesday nights and Friday nights except for Week 6, when games shift to Tuesday (Oct. 23, Sacramento-Omaha, 9 p.m. ET) and Thursday (Oct. 25, Las Vegas-Virginia. 6 p.m. ET). All games are televised by CBS Sports Network, all schedule times Eastern

Week 1 (All times Eastern)

Wednesday, Sept. 19: Sacramento at Las Vegas, 9 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 21: Virginia at Omaha, 7 p.m.

Week 2

Wednesday, Sept. 26: Virginia at Las Vegas, 9 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 28: Omaha at Sacramento, 11 p.m.

Week 3

Wednesday, Oct. 3: Omaha at Las Vegas, 9 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 5: Sacramento at Virginia, 7 p.m.

Week 4

Wednesday, Oct. 10: Las Vegas at Sacramento, 9 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 12: Virginia at Omaha, 7 p.m.

Week 5

Wednesday, Oct. 17: Las Vegas at Omaha, 9 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 19: Sacramento at Virginia, 9 p.m.

Week 6* (games Tuesday and Thursday)

Tuesday, Oct. 23: Sacramento at Omaha, 9 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 25: Las Vegas at Virginia, 6 p.m.

Week 7

Wednesday, Oct. 31: Omaha at Las Vegas, 9 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 2: Virginia at Sacramento, 9 p.m.

Week 8

Wednesday, Nov. 7: Las Vegas at Sacramento, 9 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 9: Omaha at Virginia, 9:30 p.m.

 CHAMPIONSHIP GAME

Friday, Nov. 16. Site to be determined, 9 p.m.