Pentagon’s Valor website expands

Posted at 10:37 PM, Aug 02, 2012
and last updated 2012-08-02 22:37:54-04

The Distinguished Service Cross is a rare honor for service members, often claimed by people who never earned it.

But this week, the Pentagon made it easier to spot people who steal that valor.

The website,, launched just over a week ago.

At first, it only listed ten troops who have received the Medal of Honor since 2001.

But this week it expanded to include recipients of the Distinguished Service Cross, Navy Cross and Air Force Cross.

The database was created after the Supreme Court struck down a law that made it a federal crime to lie about receiving combat medals.

The high court said the 2005 Stolen Valor Act was a violation of first amendment rights.

The new database lists each branch and its award recipients.

This week, the Pentagon expanded the site to include the names of service members who have received the Service Cross.

Virginia Senator Jim Webb is working on a new Stolen Valor Act.

His bill would narrow the law's reach to only those who lie about military awards for material gain, like to get a job or a promotion.

For now, our true heroes can be found on the government website