Ravens win Super Bowl XLVII

Posted at 6:13 AM, Feb 04, 2013
and last updated 2013-02-04 06:13:52-05

nfllogo(CNN) — The Baltimore Ravens beat the San Francisco 49ers 34-31 at Super Bowl XLVII in New Orleans on Sunday.

It is the second victory in the NFL championship for the Ravens, who also won Super Bowl XXXV.

Just a few minutes after Baltimore’s Jacoby Jones returned the opening kickoff of the second half for a touchdown, the power in half the Superdome went off with 13:22 left in the third quarter. The referee called a halt to the game while stadium officials worked to fix the problem. At about 8:45 p.m. ET, power was restored and the process of powering up the lights began.

The game restarted after a 35-minute delay, according to CBS, which broadcast the game.

The 49ers scored their first touchdown when Michael Crabtree scored on a 31-yard touchdown throw from Colin Kaepernick. That made the score 28-13 with 7:20 left in the third quarter.

Three minutes later, Frank Gore scored on a 6-yard run off the right side to draw the 49ers to within eight, after a David Akers extra point.

After a Ray Rice fumble gave the ball back to the 49ers, Akers kicked his third field goal of the contest.

Rookie Justin Tucker boosted the Ravens lead back to eight with a field goal 2:03 into the final quarter.

But the Niners answered quickly. Kaepenick’s 15-yard scamper — the longest touchdown run by a quarterback in Super Bowl history — made the score at 31-29 with 9:57 left in regulation. But his throw on the two-point conversion was too high.

Tucker kicked a 38-yard field goal with 4:23 left in the game to make it 34-29.

Instead of punting out of their end zone, the Ravens took a safety with four seconds left in the game.

The 49ers ran out of time as they returned the game-ending free kick.

Ravens’ quarterback Joe Flacco — who was selected as the game’s most valuable player — was 22 of 33 for 287 yards.

Kaepernick was 16 of 28 for 246 yards.

Flacco threw red-zone touchdown passes in the first half — the first to Anquan Boldin and another to Dennis Pitta.

He also hit Jones for a 56-yard touchdown pass, where the wide-open receiver fell down catching the ball at the 8-yard line, got up and evaded one defender before sprinting into the end zone.

Baltimore linebacker Ray Lewis won his second title. He has said he will retire after 17 seasons in the NFL.