Gov. McDonnell awards $6 million in school security equipment grants

Posted at 3:07 PM, Sep 04, 2013
and last updated 2013-09-04 18:43:03-04

On Tuesday, Governor Bob McDonnell announced that $6 million in School Security Equipment Grants will be awarded to improve safety and security for students in 459 Virginia schools and regional education programs.

The grants will pay for security equipment, including video monitoring systems, metal detectors, electronic-access controls, visitor-identification systems and communications systems providing direct links between schools and law enforcement agencies.

School divisions and programs began applying for the grants in June.

  • Chesapeake — $100,000 for Great Bridge High, Greenbrier Middle, Hickory Middle and Hugo A. Owens Middle
  • Franklin — $36,800 for Franklin High and J. P. King, Jr. Middle
  • Gloucester County — $77,259 for Achilles Elementary, Botetourt Elementary and Gloucester High School
  • Hampton — $100,000 for A.W.E. Bassett Elementary, Aberdeen Elementary, Alfred S. Forrest Elementary, Armstrong Elementary, Barron Elementary, Benjamin Symns Middle, Bethel High, Booker Elementary, C. Alton Lindsay Middle, Captain John Smith Elementary, Cesar Tarrant Elementary, Christopher C. Kraft Elementary, Francis Asbury Elementary, Francis W. Jones Middle, George P. Phenix School, Hampton High, Hunter B. Andrews, Jane H. Bryan Elementary, Jefferson Davis Middle, John B. Cary Elementary, John Tyler Elementary, Kecoughtan High, Luther W. Machen Elementary, Paul Burbank Elementary, Phillips Elementary, Phoebus High, Samuel P. Langley Elementary, Thomas Eaton Middle, Tucker-Capps Elementary and William Mason Cooper Elementary
  • Isle of Wight County — $86,205 for Carrsville Elementary, Hardy Elementary, Smithfield High, Westside Elementary and Windsor High
  • Middle Peninsula Regional Special Education Program — $2,080
  • Newport News — $72,658 for An Achievable Dream Elementary, Carver Elementary, Charles Elementary, Deer Park Elementary, Denbigh Early Childhood Center, Dutrow Elementary, Epes Elementary, General Stanford Elementary, Greenwood Elementary, Hidenwood Elementary, Hilton Elementary, Jenkins Elementary, Kiln Creek Elementary, Lee Hall Early Childhood Center., Lee Hall Elementary, Marshall Early Childhood Center, McIntosh Elementary, Nelson Elementary, Newsome Park Elementary, Palmer Elementary, Richneck Elementary, Riverside Elementary, Sanford Elementary, Saunders Elementary, Sedgefield Elementary, Watkins Early Childhood Center and Yates Elementary
  • Norfolk — $75,974 for Azalea Gardens Middle, Bayview Elementary, Booker T. Washington High, Fairlawn Elementary, Ghent Elementary, Granby Elementary, Jacox Elementary, Lindenwood Elementary, Little Creek Elementary, Northside Middle, Norview Elementary, Suburban Park Elementary, Willard Model Elementary and Willoughby Elementary
  • Northampton County — $40,230 for Kiptopeke Elementary, Northampton High and Occohannock Elementary
  • Poquoson — $47,040 for Poquoson High and Poquoson Middle
  • Portsmouth — $99,960 for Brighton Elementary, Churchland Middle, Cradock Middle, Douglass Park Elementary, Emily N. Spong Preschool, John Tyler Elementary, Lakeview Elementary, Mount Hermon Preschool, Park View Elementary, Westhaven Elementary and William E. Waters Middle
  • Southampton County — $96,436 for Capron Elementary, Southampton High  and Southampton Middle
  • Suffolk — $100,000 for Booker T. Washington Elementary, Driver Elementary, Elephant's Fork Elementary, Florence Bowser Elementary, Forest Glen Middle, Hillpoint Elementary, John F. Kennedy Middle, John Yeates Middle, Kilby Shores Elementary, King's Fork Middle, Lakeland High, Mack Benn, Jr. Elementary, Nansemond Parkway Elementary, Oakland Elementary and Southwestern Elementary
  • Surry County — $40,000 for Surry County High
  • Sussex County — $37,402 for Sussex Central High and Sussex Central Middle
  • Virginia Beach — $100,000 for Kempsville High
  • Williamsburg-James City County — $57,680 for Jamestown High and Toano Middle