Here are Chesapeake’s 2016 Teachers of the Year!

Posted at 12:42 PM, Dec 04, 2015
and last updated 2015-12-04 12:49:28-05

Chesapeake Public Schools has released the full list of names of the 2016 Teachers of the Year!

One teacher is chosen from each school.

The Virginia Department of Education sends eligibility guidelines and recommendations for Teacher of the Year characteristics. Staff members at each school then submit nominations to the school’s Teacher of the Year committee and the committee then decides on the candidate.

Chesapeake Public Schools holds a ceremony each spring to honor the Teachers of the Year. At the ceremony, an Elementary Teacher of the Year, Middle School Teacher of the Year, High School Teacher, and overall Chesapeake Teacher of the Year are selected from the group.


Butts Road Intermediate  – Sandra Boross

Butts Road Primary – Beth Gale

Camelot Elementary – Claudie Cropper

Carver Intermediate – Kelley Seitz

Cedar Road Elementary – Judith Whitted

W. Chittum Elementary – Rayminton Cuffee

Crestwood Intermediate -Tia Hatton

Deep Creek Central Elementary – Trulee Swindle

Deep Creek Elementary – Jessica Ferguson

Georgetown Primary – Cheri VanAllen

Grassfield Elementary – Kimberly Pocock

Great Bridge Intermediate – Sharon Winslow

Great Bridge Primary – Laura Nifong

Greenbrier Intermediate – Margaret Sawyer

Greenbrier Primary – Patti Williams

Hickory Elementary – Karen Davis

Thurgood Marshall Elementary – Lauren Perez

Norfolk Highlands Primary – Angela Klaverkamp

Portlock Primary – Heather Murphy

Southeastern Elementary – Michelle Eason

Southwestern Elementary – Deborah McNeal

Sparrow Road Intermediate – Kathleen Saunders

G. A. Treakle Elementary – Shallery Bond

Truitt Intermediate – Kaitlyn Strawhand

Western Branch Intermediate – Kim Hogan

Western Branch Primary – Autumn Fuller

B. M. Williams Primary – Jennifer Applegate

Rena B. Wright Primary – Sherry Koolman


Chesapeake Alternative School – Gator Kirk

Crestwood Middle School – Kristin Bumbaugh

Deep Creek Middle – Lynn Hunt

Great Bridge Middle – Michael Oare

Greenbrier Middle – Kathy Doren

Hickory Middle – Shanda Cigich

Indian River Middle – Dr. Toney McNair

Jolliff Middle – Dr. Loree Cobb

Hugo Owens Middle – Cherie Mathews

Oscar Smith Middle – Selina Howard

Western Branch Middle – Virginia Chilcott


Chesapeake Center for Science & Technology – Wiley Lee

Deep Creek High – Tanya Breathwaite

Grassfield High – Kathi Fitzgerald

Great Bridge High – Christopher Lessick

Hickory High – Patric Troia

Indian River High – Chrystal Lawrence

Oscar Smith High – Kevin Wasinger

Western Branch High – Susan Hodges