Four more North Carolina counties now eligible for FEMA assistance after Matthew

Posted at 8:50 PM, Oct 25, 2016
and last updated 2016-10-25 22:56:26-04

RALEIGH, N.C. –  Four more counties are now eligible for disaster assistance through FEMA.

North Carolina homeowners, renters, and business owners in Camden County, Chowan, Currituck and Pasquotank counties may now apply for federal disaster assistance.

These counties are joining 31 others that are already eligible to apply for assistance because of the devastation Hurricane Matthew caused.

The 31 counties already eligible include Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Moore, Nash, Onslow, Pender, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Tyrrell, Washington, Wake, Wayne and Wilson.

You are encouraged to register with FEMA as soon as possible even if you do have insurance.

Here is how to register with FEMA:

• Online at
• Call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362. It is the same number if you use 711 or Video Relay Service
• Call 800-462-7585 if you are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and you use a TTY
Download the FEMA Mobile Appand apply.