Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland announces 2020 Inductee class

Posted at 8:18 AM, Jan 15, 2020

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced the official 2020 Induction Class.

After weeks of open voting, the nominees inducted into the Rock Hall of Fame are:

  • The Doobie Brothers
  • Depeche Mode
  • Nine Inch Nails
  • The Notorious B.I.G.
  • T. Rex
  • Whitney Houston

The 2020 Rock & Roll of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland on May 2. The week leading up to the ceremony will include celebratory events and the opening of the 2020 Inductee exhibit.

Watch the announcement of the 2020 class below:

Nine artists nominated for the 2020 class are first timers: Dave Matthews Band, The Doobie Brothers, Whitney Houston, Motorhead, The Notorious B.I.G. Pat Benatar, Soundgarden, T. Rex and Thin Lizzy.

This was the fourth year the Rock Hall has conducted a fan vote.

To be eligible for inclusion the Rock Hall an individual or artist must have released its first commercial recording 25 years prior to the year of the induction, so 2020 nominees had to have released their first recording no later than 1994.

Nearly 900 individual artists have been inducted over the past 34 years.

RELATED: Nominees for the 2020 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Class announced

This story was originally published by Kaylyn Hlavaty on WEWS in Cleveland.