Del. Jay Jones receives additional endorsements for Attorney General campaign

Posted at 7:50 AM, Dec 18, 2020
and last updated 2020-12-18 08:01:31-05

NORFOLK, Va. - Delegate Jay Jones receives four new endorsements in support of his historic campaign to become Virginia’s first African American Attorney General.

According to a news release, Jones is beyond honored to earn support from leaders across the Commonwealth who believe in a new vision for Virginia's next decade.

“I am committed to uniting Virginians no matter who you are, where you come from, or what you look like as we work to promote real, comprehensive justice reform, protect consumers, ensure access to affordable and quality healthcare, and champion a more environmentally-conscious Virginia,”said Delegate Jones.

Jones said he's proud to have earned the support of Mayor Stoney, as Stoney is a champion for justice reform, education, and lifting Virginians up no matter who you are or where you come from, according to the release.

According to the report, Mayor Stoney believes that Jay Jones represents a new generation of young, Black leaders in Virginia

“He is the kind of Attorney General we need to lead the tough conversations about fixing our broken criminal justice system and shifting our focus to restorative justice. I am proud to endorse him for Attorney General,” said Stoney.

Congresswoman Elaine Luria said that it's an easy call to support Jones.

"He is smart, tenacious, and will always do the right thing for Virginia families," said Luria.

Delegate Jay Jones was elected to the Virginia House of Delegates in 2017 representing the 89th District.

Additional Endorsements Announced Today:

Jasmine Gore, Mayor (Hopewell)

Levar Stoney, Mayor (Richmond)

Tyrone Nelson, Board of Supervisors (Henrico)

Pastor Michelle Thomas, NAACP Loudoun Branch President (Loudoun)

Previously Announced Endorsements:

U.S. Senator Cory Booker (New Jersey)

Congresswoman Elaine Luria (VA-02)

Senator John Bell (Loudoun)

Senator Lynwood Lewis (Accomack)

Senator Mamie Locke, Chair, Senate Democratic Caucus (Hampton)

Senator Monty Mason (Williamsburg)

Senator Joe Morrissey (Richmond)

Senator Lionell Spruill (Chesapeake)

Delegate Lashrecse Aird (Petersburg)

Delegate Alex Askew (Virginia Beach)

Delegate Lamont Bagby, Chairman, Virginia Legislative Black Caucus (Henrico)

Delegate Jeff Bourne (Richmond)

Delegate Josh Cole (Fredericksburg)

Delegate Kelly Convirs-Fowler (Virginia Beach)

Delegate Wendy Gooditis (Clarke)

Delegate Nancy Guy (Virginia Beach)

Delegate Cliff Hayes (Chesapeake)

Delegate Steve Heretick (Portsmouth)

Delegate Patrick Hope (Arlington)

Delegate Chris Hurst (Montgomery)

Delegate Clinton Jenkins (Suffolk)

Delegate Mark Keam (Fairfax)

Delegate Kaye Kory (Fairfax)

Delegate Paul Krizek (Fairfax)

Delegate Martha Mugler (Hampton)

Delegate Mike Mullin (Newport News)

Delegate Kathleen Murphy (Fairfax)

Delegate Cia Price (Newport News)

Delegate David Reid (Loudoun)

Delegate Ibraheem Samirah (Fairfax)

Delegate Don Scott (Portsmouth)

Delegate Marcus Simon (Fairfax)

Delegate Shelly Simonds (Newport News)

Delegate Luke Torian (Prince William)

Delegate Roslyn Tyler (Sussex)

Delegate Schuyler VanValkenburg (Henrico)

Former Delegate Ward Armstrong, Former House Democratic Minority Leader (Martinsville)

Former Delegate Dick Cranwell, Former House Democratic Majority and Minority Leader (Vinton)

Former Delegate Albert Pollard (Irvington)

Former Delegate Debra Rodman (Henrico)

Former Delegate David Toscano, Former House Democratic Minority Leader (Charlottesville)

Joe Baron, Sheriff (Norfolk)

Wes Bellamy, Former City Councilman (Charlottesville)

Lisa Lucas Burke, Vice Mayor (Portsmouth)

Ron Campbell, Town Councilman (Leesburg)

John Chapman, Councilman (Alexandria)

Tom Clinton, Commissioner of the Revenue (Falls Church)

H. Fuller Cridlin, Commonwealth’s Attorney (Lee)

Todd Divers, Commissioner of the Revenue (Charlottesville)

Courtney Doyle, Councilwoman (Norfolk)

Franklin Edmondson, Commissioner of the Revenue (Portsmouth)

Paul Fraim, Former Mayor (Norfolk)

James Gray, Vice Mayor (Hampton)

Daun Hester, Treasurer, Former Vice Mayor, and Former Delegate (Norfolk)

Sherman Holland, Commissioner of the Revenue (Roanoke)

Mamie Johnson, Councilwoman (Norfolk)

Michael Jones, Councilman (Richmond)

Phil Kellam, Commissioner of the Revenue (Virginia Beach)

Jack Kennedy, Clerk of Circuit Court, Former Senator, and Former Delegate (Wise)

Sherman P. Lea, Sr., Mayor (Roanoke)

Stephanie Lynch, Councilwoman (Richmond)

Michael Moore, Sheriff (Portsmouth)

Gabe Morgan, Sheriff (Newport News)

Cynthia Morrison, Clerk of Circuit Court (Portsmouth)

Ross Mugler, Commissioner of the Revenue (Hampton)

Doug Mullins, Commissioner of the Revenue (Wise)

Evans Poston, Commissioner of the Revenue (Norfolk)

Andy Protogyrou, Former Councilman (Norfolk)

Paul Riddick, Councilman (Norfolk)

Vincent Robertson, Commonwealth’s Attorney (Sussex)

George Schaefer, Clerk of Circuit Court (Norfolk)

Ann Thomas, Commissioner of the Revenue (York)

Martin Thomas, Jr., Vice Mayor (Norfolk)

Donnie Tuck, Mayor (Hampton)

Greg Underwood, Commonwealth’s Attorney (Norfolk)

Angelia Williams Graves, Councilwoman (Norfolk)

Sandra Brandt, Community Leader (Virginia Beach)

Laura Wood Habr, Community Leader (Virginia Beach)

Sherman P. Lea, Jr., Community Leader (Roanoke)

Missy Cotter Smasal, Community Leader (Virginia Beach)

Charlie Stanton, Community Leader (Norfolk)

David Washington, Community Leader (Chesapeake)