Richmond Sen. Jennifer McClellan launches campaign for Virginia Governor

jen m (1).jpg
Posted at 7:48 AM, Jun 18, 2020

VIRGINIA - Senator Jennifer McClellan of Richmond has announced her plan to run for Governor of Virginia.

“We stand at a critical time in our history, as Virginia faces health, economic and racial inequity crises,” Sen. McClellan said in a statement Thursday announcing her candidacy. “This is a moment to step boldly into our future. I’m running for governor to lead Virginia in building an inclusive economy that doesn’t leave people behind, a healthcare system that everyone can access affordably, and public schools that deliver on the promise in our constitution to provide high quality education to all children."

Sen. McClellan is a Democrat currently serving as Virginia's 9th Senate District which represents parts of Henrico County, the City of Richmond, Hanover County, and all of Charles City County.

In a press release sent out on behalf of Sen. McClellan, it states that she has led on landmark Virginia laws to invest in education, grow small business, expand access to health care access, ban discrimination and inequity, safeguard workers’ rights and voting rights, reform the criminal justice system, protect a woman’s right to choose, and tackle climate change.

In 2020, the release also states that she led the passage of 36 laws, including the Virginia Clean Economy Act, the Reproductive Health Protection Act, creation of the Virginia Health Benefit Exchange, the Domestic Workers Bill of Rights, The Pregnant Workers Fairness Act, the creation of a School Construction and Modernization Commission, bills to address the school-to-prison pipeline, and ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment.

Sen. McClellan has announced a list of 15 endorsers from 12 different localities – including six legislators and five local elected officials.

The endorsers are:

  • Senators Mamie Locke (Hampton), Jennifer Boysko (Fairfax), Ghazala Hashmi (Chesterfield) and Monty Mason (Williamsburg)
  • Delegates Jeff Bourne (Richmond) and Del. Rodney Willett (Henrico)
  • Mayors Justin Wilson (Alexandria) and Deanna Reed (Harrisonburg)
  • Board of Supervisors Members Katie Cristol (Arlington) and Faye Prichard (Hanover)
  • Norfolk City Treasurer Daun Hester
  • Rodney Robinson, 2019 National Teacher of the Year, Richmond
  • Douglas Garcia, Education Advocate and former Virginia Assistant Secretary of Education
  • Kati Hornung, women’s equality activist, Chesterfield
  • Dr. Andrea Douglas, MBA, PhD, Art & Culture Historian & Community Leader, Charlottesville